What Soy Sauce Is Gluten Free

Must Try

Just Like Kikkoman Soy Sauce Tamari Gluten

No Soy Soy Sauce (Gluten Free, Vegan, Soy Free)

It is made with just four ingredients Water, Soybeans, Salt and Vinegar and being wheat-free, coeliacs and those with a wheat allergy can now enjoy this delicious all-purpose seasoning. Simply pour a splash in everything, from Bolognese sauce, to soup, to salad dressing for extra richness and bite. Also certified Halal.

150ml dispenser and 250ml refill bottles

Buyer Beware Soy Sauce Vs Tamari

Soy sauce and tamari do not taste the same and neither do any two brands of soy sauce. Trying new products and modifying recipes goes hand in hand with any dietary restriction. There is nothing like a head-to-head comparison to find out what you prefer, help you learn about the products you consume and have a little fun in the process. I wont say any more about product labels, they are self explanatory and a tasting event will put you on the right track.

Who Makes The Best Hoisin Sauce

Taste Tests of the Top 9 Best Hoisin Sauces What is Hoisin Sauce, where did it come from, and how does it taste? Reviews of the Top 10 Hoisin Sauces. #5 Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce. #1 Kikkoman Hoisin Sauce. #2 Lee Kum Kee Hoisin Sauce. #3 Koon Chun Hoisin Sauce. #4 Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Marinade & Sauce.

Dont Miss: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

Don’t Miss: Texas Pete Wings Recipe

Kevala Organic Tamari Sauce

Kevala tamari sauce is organic and this one comes in reduced sodium, which I like because soy sauce can be overwhelmingly salty. Enjoy this in place of traditional Chinese soy sauce for your gluten-free diet.

On a gluten-free diet, it IS possible to enjoy soy sauce without the gluten! Find out the 10 ways I love using this ingredient in another one of my posts here or by clicking the image below.

Try one of these 5 gluten-free tamari soy sauce brands and let me know in the comments what you think!

Want to know what other condiments I stock my kitchen with? See the 17 gluten and dairy-free condiments list or click the image below.

Interested to find out what other delicious foods I stock my gluten and dairy-free pantry with? Check out my Stocking a Gluten-free Dairy-free Pantry Post here or by clicking the image below.

Whats your favorite way to use soy sauce in your cooking? Share in the comments below!

If you loved this post, I hope that youll share it with your friends on and pin it for future reference on .

If youd love even more inspiration and recipes for a gluten-free dairy-free diet, be sure to grab my free shopping list plus 5 free recipes by entering your details below!

Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free

Kikkoman® Gluten

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it is not usually gluten-free. However, there are many Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands that you can buy!

When looking for a gluten free soy sauce, youll probably hear the word tamari a lot. Tamari is soy sauce that is made without wheat ingredients. Although there are subtle differences in flavor, they are almost indistinguishable, making Tamari a perfect gluten-free substitute!

Because tamari is usually made from only soybeans, it tastes richer than soy sauce because there is a higher concentration of soy . However, some brands have both tamari and gluten free soy sauce products. The gluten free soy sauce products usually have other ingredients to try and taste more like traditional soy sauce.

All of the soy sauce or tamari brands on this list are certified gluten free. This means they have been tested by a third party to ensure they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients!

Ingredients can always change, so be sure to read the most updated label information, allergen warnings, and product certifications before purchasing any of the products on this list.

Buy Online: | Vitacost

San-J specializes in making gluten free tamari products. There are five different San-J gluten free soy sauces to choose from: Tamari, 28% Less Sodium, 50% Less Sodium, Organic Tamari, and Organic 25% Less Sodium! These products are all certified gluten free, vegan, Kosher, and Non-GMO.

Don’t Miss: Texas Pete Hot Sauce Recipe

Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauce

Tamari style soy sauce is traditionally made without wheat.

Although this truly is a soy sauce, there are a few differences between tamari and normal soy sauce. The major difference being the absence of wheat.

Traditionally, tamari is also commonly used in Japan and Japanese foods/dishes since its a byproduct of miso paste. Because of this tamari is sometimes also widely known as miso-darmari.

Although many countries do use soy sauce, youre bound to find tamari in Japanese cuisine and restaurants as opposed to other Asian ones.

Now in terms of taste, tamari has a more balanced and less salty taste than of soy sauce which typically has a harsh bite.

Other than that, these two types of soy sauces are almost identical minus the absence of gluten.

Okay so with that being said, lets jump straight into the listing of gluten free soy sauces.

Soy Sauce Ingredients And Brewing

Most is made with 4 basic ingredients.

  • Soybeans
  • Water
  • Salt

Aspergillus sojae or Aspergillus oryzae molds and yeasts are also added to activate the fermentation process which actually creates it.

Let’s briefly review each ingredient and its role in the brewing process.

Step 1 – Boiling/Steaming Soybeans

Soybeans are soaked in water and boiled or steamed until they will crumble when pressed.

Step 2 – Making Koji

The boiled soybeans are mixed with roasted wheat, Aspergillus , and yeasts to form a mixture called “Koji“. This mixture is usually allowed to sit uncovered for a couple of days.

Step 3 – Making and Aging Moromi

Water and Salt are added to the “Koji” to form a mash called “Moromi“. This “Moromi” is placed in an air-tight container and allowed to ferment for up to 6 months. Over time, the mold breaks down the soybeans and wheat into free amino acids, protein particles, and simple sugars. The reaction caused between the amino acid and simple sugar is what gives soy sauce its dark brown color.

Step 4 – Pressing the Moromi to extract Soy Sauce

When the moromi is fully fermented, it is put in cloth lined containers and pressed to separate the solid from the liquid. The solids can be fed to livestock or used for fertilizer and the remaining liquid is processed further.

Step 5 – Pasteurization

The soy sauce is then heated to remove any remaining active yeast or mold and strained again to remove any remaining minute particles.

Step 6 – Aging and Bottling

Read Also: Rao’s At Costco

Sauces Which Usually Contain Gluten

Unfortunately these sauces pretty much always tend to contain gluten, save for a few specifically gluten free ones.

Again, it’s always worth checking, but generally these sauces are NOT coeliac safe:

  • HP Brown sauce
  • Bread sauce

HP Brown Sauce does contain gluten, however the Tesco and Asda’s ‘cheap’ brown sauces are completely safe.

Plus there are some free from brown sauces such as Chippa which you can sometimes find in the free from aisle.

Soy sauce is the one which catches a lot of people out – because it’s not a thick sauce, it’s easy to assume it’s fine.

But soy sauce is NOT gluten free – unless it is specifically marked as gluten free, which is usually Tamari instead of standard soy sauce.

I personally think gluten free soy sauce tastes the same, but Asian food connoisseurs might disagree – you’ll have to let me know if you think otherwise!

This does mean a lot of Chinese food is not gluten free either, neither is sushi unless you can get it with a gluten free soy sauce instead.

As discussed above, Marmite is unfortunately not gluten free and is labelled as such, but some of the supermarket yeast extracts are, which are basically the same thing!

Want More Product Recommendations For Gluten And Dairy

How To Make Dark Soy Sauce (Gluten Free)

Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.

Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.

Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks theyre also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.

Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, youll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.

Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!

Looking for a gluten-free bread that’s also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.

Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.

Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.

Also Check: Where To Buy Rao’s Sauce

Most Soy Sauces Contain Gluten

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat and soy, making the name soy sauce slightly misleading.

The sauce is typically made by combining soy and crushed wheat and allowing the two to ferment for several days in a salty brine containing mold cultures .

Therefore, most soy sauces contain gluten from the wheat.

However, one variety called tamari is often naturally gluten-free. While traditional Japanese tamari contains a small amount of wheat, most tamari produced today is made using only fermented soy .

Additionally, some soy sauces are made with rice instead of wheat to accommodate people with gluten sensitivities.


Most soy sauce varieties contain gluten, but tamari soy sauce is generally gluten-free. Gluten-free soy sauce made with rice is also an option.

Most standard soy sauces contain gluten, while most tamari soy sauces are gluten-free.

However, you should always look for gluten-free labeling on the packaging.

The Food and Drug Administration mandates that a food labeled gluten-free contains fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, a microscopic amount that is unlikely to affect even the most severely gluten-intolerant people .

Another way to identify gluten-free soy sauce is to check the ingredient list. If it contains wheat, rye, barley, or any ingredients made from these grains, the product is not gluten-free.

Here are several varieties of gluten-free soy sauce:

Coconut aminos are made by aging coconut blossom sap with salt.


How Is Dark Soy Sauce Used

Its commonly used in braised/red-cooked dishes like Red Cooked Pork, or to achieve that tantalizing dark amber color in stir-fries like Beef & Broccoli or rice/noodle dishes like Supreme Soy Sauce Fried Rice and Cantonese Pan-fried Noodles.

You only need a teaspoon or two to take a dish from pale to amber brown. Taste often when adding more dark soy sauce, so you dont over-season your dish!

See the photo below of adding dark soy sauce to white rice

And what the rice looks like after its been stirred in :

Recommended Reading: Texas Pete Hot Sauce Recipe

The Peanut Butter Jar

Your favorite peanut butter may come gluten-free, but if you have gluten eaters in your household, it probably isnt anymore. Double-dipping a knife into peanut butter, mayonnaise, mustard, or cream cheese renders otherwise gluten-free foods no longer safe, Brown says.

In addition, dont use the same toaster for gluten-free and gluten-containing bread. Ditto for hard-to-clean kitchen items like colanders.

Originally published in 2016, this post is regularly updated.

Make No Mistake About It: Wheat

Morrisons: Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce 250ml ...

Bottom Line: Neither the FDA nor the USDA allows soy sauce made using wheat to be labeled gluten-free. There are no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

If you are a consumer or a manufacturer and you continue to have doubts about the veracity of the above bottom line statement, please read the communication from the USDA to me pasted below. I contacted the agency after Scott of the blog Gluten Dude posted about a jerky product* labeled gluten-free yet containing wheat-based soy sauce. My question to the USDA was simple, Is USDA allowing products containing wheat-based soy sauce to be labeled gluten-free? While I already knew the answer was no, I wanted the information in writing so that it could be shared publicly. The following statement is posted with permission:

Thank you to the USDA for their very speedy response!

*Note: Gluten Free Watchdog purchased the jerky from Amazon. The product is currently labeled gluten-free and contains wheat-based soy sauce. This product will be added to our FDA Citizen Petition via a comment.

Also Check: Where To Buy Rao’s Sauce

Little Soya Soy Sauce

One of the best things about Little Soya Soy Sauce is the fact that these come in highly portable little fish shaped packets.

According to Little Soya, they currently test down to 10 parts per million of gluten, so its really safe.

Along with being gluten free, these Little Soya is also non-GMO certified.

You can find Little Soya at many major grocery stores and online.

You can buy it here.

How Harmful Is Soy Sauce On A Gluten Free Diet

If you are on a gluten-free diet, note that usually soy sauce that is not labeled gluten-free contains wheat. In some countries outside the United States, it may contain barley. While there are gluten-free brands of soy sauce on the market, including tamari sauce, you should know what to expect if you accidentally ingest some glutenous soy sauce.

There are two different methods of making soy sauce. The one used in making the most flavorful soy sauce is fermentation. The other process is chemical hydrolysis, where 3-MCPD occurs, which is a known carcinogenic . Once processed, molasses or caramel color is added to make it darker in color.

In a soy sauce study, 22 brands of gluten-containing soy sauce were tested for gluten content from grocery stores and Asian markets using the R5 sandwich assay test or the R5 competitive ELISA test. All of the soy sauces tested with the R5 sandwich assay proved to be negative for gluten content. The ones tested using the R5 competitive ELISA test showed that 21 contained less than 20 parts per million gluten and the other contained 22.8 ppm.

The FDA plans on releasing separate gluten-free labeling laws on fermented and hydrolized food.

Recommended Reading: What Alfredo Sauce Is Keto Friendly

Is Soy Sauce Gluten

We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission. Heres our process.

Soy sauce is one of the best ways to add umami a complex, salty, and savory flavor to dishes. Widely used in Asian cuisine, its also extremely versatile and can be used in many different types of food .

Yet, if you have to avoid gluten, you may wonder whether soy sauce fits your dietary needs.

This article reviews whether soy sauce is gluten-free, which brands to choose, and a gluten-free soy sauce alternative.

Sauces Which Are *sometimes* Gluten Free

Soy Sauce Substitute (how-to: soy-free gluten-free alternative to soy sauce)

These sauces are always worth checking – sometimes they will contain gluten but some varieties and brands are gluten free.

I can definitely recommend the Coeliac UK scanner app if you want to check before you buy.

Sauces and condiments which are usually gluten free in the UK are:

  • Tomato Ketchup
  • Some brands of Brown Sauce
  • Some varieties of BBQ sauce
  • Salad dressings
  • Supermarket own brand Yeast Extract – while Marmite is not gluten free, a lot of the own brand ones are. Double check using the scanner app.
  • Relishes and pickles – always double check using the scanner app
  • Tartare sauce – some versions have wheat flour in but some are gluten free

When it comes to tomato ketchup, you’ll be pleased to know Heinz ketchup is gluten free!

In fact, at the time of writing, the Coeliac UK scanner app lists 222 varieties which are gluten free, so that is definitely a bonus for all your ketchup fans!

If you like BBQ sauce, you’ll be pleased to know there are quite a few you can eat.

The HP BBQ sauce is gluten free, and there are quite a few BBQ sauce bottles, marinades and jar sauces which are listed in the Coeliac UK app.

With salad dressings, the majority are gluten free but it’s important to double check the ingredients as there are so many different varieties.

One for the fans out there – the bad news is that Marmite is not gluten free.

However, many of the supermarket own brand Yeast Extracts are gluten free and safe for people with coeliac disease to eat.

Recommended Reading: World’s Strongest Hot Sauce

Kikkoman Gluten Free Soy Sauce

Kikkomans certified gluten free soy sauce consists only of water, rice, salt, and soybeans. And the best part about it is that its available in many supermarket, stores, and even online.

Now if theres one thing you need to watch out with Kikkoman tamari is that they do make a similar tamari soy sauce that contains wheat. So whenever at the store or online, always read the label to make sure that you have the right version of their tamari soy sauce.

You can also find a wide variety of other gluten free Kikkoman soy sauces online.

You can buy it here.

Eden Tamari Soy Sauce

Eden Organic offers two different types of tamari, one of which is made in the U.S. and the other which is imported from Japan.

The only difference between the 2 is that while the Japanese version is made using rice, the U.S. version is made using corn grains.

Other than that, theyre the same and are both considered to be gluten free up to 20 parts per million and are non-GMO certified.

You can buy it here.

Read Also: Is Raos Keto

Popular Recipes

More Recipes Like This