Where Can I Buy Gluten Free Soy Sauce

Must Try

Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauce

Gluten Free Asian Sauces

Tamari style soy sauce is traditionally made without wheat.

Although this truly is a soy sauce, there are a few differences between tamari and normal soy sauce. The major difference being the absence of wheat.

Traditionally, tamari is also commonly used in Japan and Japanese foods/dishes since its a byproduct of miso paste. Because of this tamari is sometimes also widely known as miso-darmari.

Although many countries do use soy sauce, youre bound to find tamari in Japanese cuisine and restaurants as opposed to other Asian ones.

Now in terms of taste, tamari has a more balanced and less salty taste than of soy sauce which typically has a harsh bite.

Other than that, these two types of soy sauces are almost identical minus the absence of gluten.

Okay so with that being said, lets jump straight into the listing of gluten free soy sauces.

Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Soy Sauce

Buy Online:

Lee Kum Kee makes many different varieties of Asian sauces, and they also make a gluten free soy sauce! This GF soy sauce is certified gluten free and vegan-friendly.

Lee Kum Kee is also a little harder to find than some brands on this list, but you can find it at 99 Ranch Market, other Asian supermarkets, and Walmart . You can also buy this soy sauce online !

Eden Organic Soy Sauce

Eden Foods has two different organic tamari-style gluten-free soy sauce productsone made in the United States and one imported from Japan. The sauce crafted in the U.S. is made from water, organic soybeans, organic alcohol, salt, and koji .

The imported soy sauce is made from organic soybeans, sea salt, water, organic alcohol, organic soybean flour, and koji. You can buy Eden Foods soy sauces online and in a wide variety of grocery stores.

Don’t Miss: Where Can I Buy Hot Ones Hot Sauce

Tamari Sauce Is Gluten

Because tamari sauce is made without wheat, consisting only of water, soybeans, and salt, those with a gluten allergy or sensitivity can enjoy it.

Do read the labels closely to ensure the brand you purchase is certified gluten free and has not been exposed to other products that may contain wheat.

Want More Product Recommendations For Gluten And Dairy

Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Light Soy Sauce 150Ml 59p @ Poundstretcher ...

Need a few gluten-free dairy-free snacks that take no prep at all? Check out these 21 gluten-free dairy-free snack ideas that are healthy and store-bought.

Need a few gluten-free dairy-free protein powder recommendations? Check out the 5 Best Gluten-free Dairy-free Protein Powder picks plus a chocolate raspberry spinach protein powder smoothie.

Discover my top 5 dairy-free ranch dressing brand picks theyre also gluten-free! Great on salads or as dip, these are great options for any dairy-free diet.

Looking for some gluten-free Costco items to make the most of your membership? In this post, youll find dairy-free and gluten-free Costco picks that are healthy and a great way to round out your shopping.

Looking for a gluten-free spaghetti brand, but not sure which one to give a try? Check out these top 5 gluten-free spaghetti brands and get my tasty meat & veggie spaghetti recipe!

Looking for a gluten-free bread that’s also dairy-free? Try one fo these 7 brands to get started.

Check out these top 10 gluten and dairy-free cookbooks full of gluten-free dairy-free recipes. These are my hand-picked favorite cookbooks for a gluten and dairy-free diet out today.

Looking for a gluten-free dairy-free pancake mix from the store? Check out the best gluten and dairy-free pancake mixes in this post.

Read Also: Slap My Ass And Call Me Sally Hot Sauce

Wan Ja Shan Soy Sauce

Wan Ja Shan is based in Taiwan, but its products are brewed in New York. The company makes both regular and lower-sodium gluten- and wheat-free tamari soy sauces, using water, organic soybeans, salt, and organic vinegar.A

The company advertises that it traditionally brews its soy sauces, allowing them to age for up to one year before they’re bottled and marketed. Note that the wheat-free version may not necessarily be “gluten-free.” You can find Wan Ja Shan soy sauces at Whole Foods, H.E.B., Harris Teeter, Sprouts Farmers Markets, and 99 Ranch Markets, or purchase them online.

What Ingredients Are In Bbq Sauce

Depending on the brand or recipe, the ingredients in barbecue sauce can vary widely. However, these are some of the ingredients youre likely to find in BBQ sauce with varying amounts to give each brand a unique flavor:

Vinegar, tomato paste or ketchup, sugar or brown sugar, molasses, onion powder, liquid smoke, mustard, black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce.

Depending on what recipe you use or what brand you buy, you may find some, all, or just a few of these ingredients in your barbecue sauce ingredients list.

Read on: Is mustard gluten-free?

Don’t Miss: Walmart Garlic Parmesan Wing Sauce

Eden Tamari Soy Sauce

Eden Organic offers two different types of tamari, one of which is made in the U.S. and the other which is imported from Japan.

The only difference between the 2 is that while the Japanese version is made using rice, the U.S. version is made using corn grains.

Other than that, theyre the same and are both considered to be gluten free up to 20 parts per million and are non-GMO certified.

You can buy it here.

Tamari Sauce: The Flavors

No Soy Soy Sauce (Gluten Free, Vegan, Soy Free)

Similar to regular soy sauce, tamari sauce boasts a rich umami flavor. Its earthy, savory, and full of depth. Tamari sauce typically contains significantly less sodium than other types of soy sauces. If youd like to further cut down on salt, try reduced sodium tamari.

Tamari sauce has a very similar texture to traditional soy sauce, making it ideal for both stir fry recipes and using as a dip for appetizers like egg rolls and dumplings/potstickers.

Read Also: Cilantro Lime Sauce For Shrimp Tacos

How We Vet Brands And Products

Healthlineonly shows you brands and products that we stand behind.

  • Evaluate ingredients and composition:Do they have the potential to cause harm?
  • Fact-check all health claims:Do they align with the current body of scientific evidence?
  • Assess the brand:Does it operate with integrity and adhere to industry best practices?

Yet, if you have to avoid gluten, you may wonder whether soy sauce fits your dietary needs.

This article reviews whether soy sauce is gluten-free, which brands to choose, and a gluten-free soy sauce alternative.

Ayam Gluten Free Dark Soy Sauce

Ayam Gluten Free Dark Soy Sauce is the sauce you need to stock up in yourKitchen Pantry! A dark and thick soy sauce with a rich and full-bodied flavour that is sweeter and less salty than regular soy sauce. Simply add just a dash for a little extra colour and sweetness.

AYAM⢠Asian Sauces have been tested by an independent laboratory and are certified Gluten Free. AYAM⢠has banned genetically modified ingredients, preservatives, added MSG and trans-fat in all AYAM⢠products.

Dark soy sauce is one of the two types of soy sauce used most often in Chinese cooking. . Aged for a longer period of time and with raw sugar or caramel and a bit of cornstarch added, dark soy sauce is thicker and darker in colour than light soy sauce, with a more full-bodied flavour. It is also less salty. Dark soy sauce is usually added to marinades and sauces to add colour and flavour to a dish. It is also found in Shanghai-style red-cooked dishes. Although dark soy sauce is used originally in cooking, as it needs heating to bring out its full flavour, you will also sometimes find it in dipping sauce recipes.

A recipe to try using Dark Sauce

Chicken & Vegetable Stir Fry


  • 300g sliced chicken breast/fillet/skinless thigh
  • 150g broccoli florets blanched briefly and plunged into ice water then drained
  • 8 baby corn, sliced thickly
  • 150g yellow zucchini, roughly cut
  • 1 red capsicum, cut into big cubes
  • 50g carrots, sliced
  • 8 fresh button mushroom, halved
  • 3 cloves, chopped garlic

Recommended Reading: How To Make Good Spaghetti Sauce With Prego

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Disclaimer: While we work to ensure that product information is correct, on occasion manufacturers may alter their ingredient lists. Actual product packaging and materials may contain more and/or different information than that shown on our Web site. We recommend that you do not solely rely on the information presented and that you always read labels, warnings, and directions before using or consuming a product. For additional information about a product, please contact the manufacturer. Content on this site is for reference purposes and is not intended to substitute for advice given by a physician, pharmacist, or other licensed health-care professional. You should not use this information as self-diagnosis or for treating a health problem or disease. Contact your health-care provider immediately if you suspect that you have a medical problem. Information and statements regarding dietary supplements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease or health condition. Amazon.com assumes no liability for inaccuracies or misstatements about products.

Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free

Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Soy Sauce 500ml

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it is not usually gluten-free. However, there are many Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands that you can buy!

When looking for a gluten free soy sauce, youll probably hear the word tamari a lot. Tamari is soy sauce that is made without wheat ingredients. Although there are subtle differences in flavor, they are almost indistinguishable, making Tamari a perfect gluten-free substitute!

Because tamari is usually made from only soybeans, it tastes richer than soy sauce because there is a higher concentration of soy . However, some brands have both tamari and gluten free soy sauce products. The gluten free soy sauce products usually have other ingredients to try and taste more like traditional soy sauce.

All of the soy sauce or tamari brands on this list are certified gluten free. This means they have been tested by a third party to ensure they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients!

Ingredients can always change, so be sure to read the most updated label information, allergen warnings, and product certifications before purchasing any of the products on this list.

Buy Online: | Vitacost

San-J specializes in making gluten free tamari products. There are five different San-J gluten free soy sauces to choose from: Tamari, 28% Less Sodium, 50% Less Sodium, Organic Tamari, and Organic 25% Less Sodium! These products are all certified gluten free, vegan, Kosher, and Non-GMO.

Don’t Miss: Brownwood Farms Cherry Bbq Sauce

Which Brands Of Taco Seasoning Are Gluten

It can be tricky to know which taco seasonings contain gluten, and which do not. Some taco seasonings are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients, but have the chance of cross-contamination with gluten in the manufacturing process.

If you have an extreme gluten allergy, its best to only buy taco seasoning that has a gluten-free label. Or, you can make your own!

Here are some brands that make gluten free taco seasoning:

  • McCormick Taco Seasoning
  • Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix Original
  • Trader Joes Taco Seasoning
  • Durkee Taco Seasoning
  • Thrive Market Taco Seasoning

Is Kraft Bbq Sauce Gluten

Kraft does a great job of labeling allergens on their food products. In the case of BBQ sauce, most of the flavors contain no gluten-containing ingredients, however they dont have a gluten-free label.

Because they dont have a gluten-free label, they may come into contact with gluten in the manufacturing process.

Since recipes change all the time, be sure to check ingredients lists before purchasing. And only buy it if you can tolerate trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination.

Read Also: Rao’s Pasta Sauce Ingredients

Ohsawa White Nama Shoyu Sauce

This Japanese sauce is made with sea salt, distilled sake, and lots of wheat, giving it a thicker texture than traditional soy sauce.

Its billed as fruity-smelling and slightly sweet. Its golden honey color also sets it apart from traditional soy sauces.

Shyu means soy sauce in Japanese, but this sauce from the brand Ohsawa is actually soy-free, despite its name.

Most Soy Sauces Contain Gluten

Get that perfect Miso taste with these 7 miso paste substitutes (gluten-free & soy-free options!)

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat and soy, making the name soy sauce slightly misleading.

The sauce is typically made by combining soy and crushed wheat and allowing the two to ferment for several days in a salty brine containing mold cultures .

Therefore, most soy sauces contain gluten from the wheat.

However, one variety called tamari is often naturally gluten-free. While traditional Japanese tamari contains a small amount of wheat, most tamari produced today is made using only fermented soy .

Additionally, some soy sauces are made with rice instead of wheat to accommodate people with gluten sensitivities.


Most soy sauce varieties contain gluten, but tamari soy sauce is generally gluten-free. Gluten-free soy sauce made with rice is also an option.

Most standard soy sauces contain gluten, while most tamari soy sauces are gluten-free.

However, you should always look for gluten-free labeling on the packaging.

The Food and Drug Administration mandates that a food labeled gluten-free contains fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten, a microscopic amount that is unlikely to affect even the most severely gluten-intolerant people .

Another way to identify gluten-free soy sauce is to check the ingredient list. If it contains wheat, rye, barley, or any ingredients made from these grains, the product is not gluten-free.

Here are several varieties of gluten-free soy sauce:

Coconut aminos are made by aging coconut blossom sap with salt.


You May Like: Ragu Roasted Garlic Parmesan Sauce Pasta Recipe

Little Soya Soy Sauce

One of the best things about Little Soya Soy Sauce is the fact that these come in highly portable little fish shaped packets.

According to Little Soya, they currently test down to 10 parts per million of gluten, so its really safe.

Along with being gluten free, these Little Soya is also non-GMO certified.

You can find Little Soya at many major grocery stores and online.

You can buy it here.

Tamari Sauce Vs Soy Sauce

Because both tamari sauce and soy sauce are made with fermented soybeans and boast a similar flavor, theyre comparable, with a few unique differences. The biggest differences are the salt level, consistency, and ingredients.

Tamari sauce is just slightly thicker than soy sauce. It is also made with less salt, making it a better choice for those who are trying to reduce sodium in their diet.

If you are substituting tamari in a recipe that calls for soy sauce, consider adding a pinch of salt to make up for this difference. On the other hand, youll want to omit any additional salt if youll be using soy sauce in place of tamari.

Tamari is made with just soybeans, water, and salt. There is typically no wheat in tamari sauce. Soy sauce is made with soybeans, wheat, salt, and a fermenting agent. The omission of wheat is the reason many with gluten allergies choose to substitute tamari sauce for soy sauce.

Read Also: How To Make Mumbo Sauce

Gluten Free Taco Seasoning Recipe

If your family is anything like ours, tacos are on a steady rotation for weeknight dinners. Theyre easy, delicious, and everyone loves them. They can be customized a million ways, and the come together in under 30 minutes.

After a busy weekday, theres nothing better than gluten-free tacos!

Homemade taco seasoning mix may sound like a way to complicate the process, but its actually incredibly easy to make. And if youre on a gluten-free diet, its totally the way to go.

Seasoning mix found at the local grocery store may not be gluten-free. Even if you dont see any gluten ingredients on the list, there could be trace amounts due to cross-contamination in the manufacturing process.

Need another good reason to make your own taco seasoning blend?

The store-bought version often has preservatives and other ingredients that totally unnecessary when you make it yourself. Better yet, homemade taco seasoning just tastes better!

Add this homemade gluten free spice mix to your spice cabinet and youll always be ready for Taco Tuesday.

What Does Tamari Sauce Taste Like

Buy Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Light Soy Sauce 250ml for £1.69

Tamari sauce has a rich, earthy, umami taste. Its not as salty as soy sauce, meaning its a bit less intense in flavor. Because it isnt overloaded with salt, you can really taste the complex flavor profile of the fermented soybeans. Its a unique way to add a bit of earthy flavor to many different types of dishes.

You May Like: Custom Hot Sauce Wedding Favors

Kikkoman Soy Sauce All Purpose Gluten Free

Soy Sauce, Gluten-Free, Traditionally Brewed

All-purpose seasoning. Certified Gluten free. gfco.org. Kikkoman Gluten-Free Soy Sauce is certified Gluten-Free by GFCO www.gfco.org. Over 300 years of excellence. Kikkoman Gluten-Free Soy Sauce is made with four simple ingredients – water, soybeans, rice and salt. It’s then brewed and aged for a rich, savory taste and has the same flavor-enhancing qualities you’ve come to expect from Kikkoman Soy Sauce. Perfect in any recipe or marinade calling for soy sauce. Use to create authentic-tasting Asian dishes and to season foods in everyday cooking. No preservatives added. www.KikkomanUSA.com. Visit us at www.KikkomanUSA.com. Brewed in USA.

Nutrition Facts

Servings Per Container : About 20

Is Tamari Better Than Soy Sauce

There is a time and place for both tamari sauce and soy sauce, depending on the recipe. It should be noted that tamari is higher in protein, is gluten-free, contains natural antioxidants, is less salty, and is rich in flavor. We regularly use both sauces in our recipes and recommend you try both, to discover your favorite flavor profile.

You May Like: Cry Baby Craig’s Hot Sauce

Popular Recipes

More Recipes Like This