Soy Sauce That Is Gluten Free

Must Try

Sauces Which Are *sometimes* Gluten Free

Gluten Free Soy Sauce

These sauces are always worth checking – sometimes they will contain gluten but some varieties and brands are gluten free.

I can definitely recommend the Coeliac UK scanner app if you want to check before you buy.

Sauces and condiments which are usually gluten free in the UK are:

  • Tomato Ketchup
  • Some brands of Brown Sauce
  • Some varieties of BBQ sauce
  • Salad dressings
  • Supermarket own brand Yeast Extract – while Marmite is not gluten free, a lot of the own brand ones are. Double check using the scanner app.
  • Relishes and pickles – always double check using the scanner app
  • Tartare sauce – some versions have wheat flour in but some are gluten free

When it comes to tomato ketchup, you’ll be pleased to know Heinz ketchup is gluten free!

In fact, at the time of writing, the Coeliac UK scanner app lists 222 varieties which are gluten free, so that is definitely a bonus for all your ketchup fans!

If you like BBQ sauce, you’ll be pleased to know there are quite a few you can eat.

The HP BBQ sauce is gluten free, and there are quite a few BBQ sauce bottles, marinades and jar sauces which are listed in the Coeliac UK app.

With salad dressings, the majority are gluten free but it’s important to double check the ingredients as there are so many different varieties.

One for the fans out there – the bad news is that Marmite is not gluten free.

However, many of the supermarket own brand Yeast Extracts are gluten free and safe for people with coeliac disease to eat.

Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it is not usually gluten-free. However, there are many Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands that you can buy!

When looking for a gluten free soy sauce, youll probably hear the word tamari a lot. Tamari is soy sauce that is made without wheat ingredients. Although there are subtle differences in flavor, they are almost indistinguishable, making Tamari a perfect gluten-free substitute!

Because tamari is usually made from only soybeans, it tastes richer than soy sauce because there is a higher concentration of soy . However, some brands have both tamari and gluten free soy sauce products. The gluten free soy sauce products usually have other ingredients to try and taste more like traditional soy sauce.

All of the soy sauce or tamari brands on this list are certified gluten free. This means they have been tested by a third party to ensure they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients!

Ingredients can always change, so be sure to read the most updated label information, allergen warnings, and product certifications before purchasing any of the products on this list.

Buy Online: | Vitacost

San-J specializes in making gluten free tamari products. There are five different San-J gluten free soy sauces to choose from: Tamari, 28% Less Sodium, 50% Less Sodium, Organic Tamari, and Organic 25% Less Sodium! These products are all certified gluten free, vegan, Kosher, and Non-GMO.

How Can I Tell If My Soy Sauce Contains Gluten

The best way to know if your soy sauce has gluten is to check the ingredients list. If you see that your soy sauce contains wheat and gluten, you should not consume it.

Most companies will state whether their products contain wheat. But you can often tell by the color of the soy sauce. For instance, tamari soy sauces are typically darker whereas wheat in traditional soy sauces makes them look lighter.

Additionally, you can tell based on the taste of the soy sauce. Tamari soy sauces have a deep umami flavor while regular soy sauce has a sweeter flavor.

Read Also: Raos Pizza Sauce Vs Marinara

Sauces Which Usually Contain Gluten

Unfortunately these sauces pretty much always tend to contain gluten, save for a few specifically gluten free ones.

Again, it’s always worth checking, but generally these sauces are NOT coeliac safe:

  • HP Brown sauce
  • Bread sauce

HP Brown Sauce does contain gluten, however the Tesco and Asda’s ‘cheap’ brown sauces are completely safe.

Plus there are some free from brown sauces such as Chippa which you can sometimes find in the free from aisle.

Soy sauce is the one which catches a lot of people out – because it’s not a thick sauce, it’s easy to assume it’s fine.

But soy sauce is NOT gluten free – unless it is specifically marked as gluten free, which is usually Tamari instead of standard soy sauce.

I personally think gluten free soy sauce tastes the same, but Asian food connoisseurs might disagree – you’ll have to let me know if you think otherwise!

This does mean a lot of Chinese food is not gluten free either, neither is sushi unless you can get it with a gluten free soy sauce instead.

As discussed above, Marmite is unfortunately not gluten free and is labelled as such, but some of the supermarket yeast extracts are, which are basically the same thing!

Are Sauces Which Contain Barley Gluten Free

Kikkoman® Gluten

Please note I have updated this section since Coeliac UK updated its guidelines on barley malt and will continue to check for relevant updates .

Sauces which contain barley are one of the main confusions here, so let me explain.

When you’re diagnosed with coeliac disease, you’re told barley is one of things you cannot eat.

So it’s not surprising so many people are confused that some of these condiments and sauces below are gluten free! And the plot thickens…

Because previously things like Lea and Perrins Worcestershire Sauce and Branston Pickle were previously marked as safe in the Coeliac UK Food and Drink Guide.

But now they are no longer listed as being suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Read Also: Raos Sauce Keto

Top Soy Sauce Substitutes

Finding the best substitute for soy sauce can be a daunting task. Will it taste just as good? And exactly what is a substitute for soy sauce?

Overwhelmed? Dont be! The best part is that if you dont find an alternative for sale that you like, you can just make your own! Put it in a handy mason jar and store it for later.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Bread Low Fodmap

What Soy Sauce Do The Japanese Use

Japan has a variety of soy sauces that they have used for centuries. Today the most popular soy sauce is Koikuchi. At least 80% of all soy sauce produced in Japan is Koikuchi soy sauce. But even the Koikuchi soy sauce comes in various types and grades according to its content and how they are produced.

You May Like: Texas Pete Sauce Recipe

Is Tamari Soy Sauce Gluten

Tamari soy sauce, also known as shoyu, is gluten-free because it contains little to no wheat. Instead, its main ingredients are soy, organic alcohol, salt, and water.

The main process of creating tamari soy sauce is to ferment soybeans and occasionally very little wheat.

There are different fermentation processes for tamari that create different kinds of tamari which include sai-shikomi, usukuchi, shiro, and koikuchi.

Each kind of tamari soy sauce will vary in wheat content, flavor, and thickness. Luckily, most will be wheat and gluten-free.

What Is Soy Sauce Used For

How To Make Dark Soy Sauce (Gluten Free)

Soy sauce is mainly used for its culinary wonder. If you are looking for some specific soy sauce uses as condiment or for other things, here are some of the main things soy sauce is used for.

  • Used to recreate popular saucy Chinese meals as well as an added seasoning in making BBQ sauce.
  • Used in making savory dips like fried chicken and in lighter foods such as dumplings, gyoza, spring rolls, sashimi, and sushi.
  • Used as seasoning for stir fry meals, fried rice, pilaf, and noodles.
  • Used as condiment for stews and soups.

Don’t Miss: Heatonist Hot Sauce Box

Why Is Soy Sauce Not Gluten

Traditionally, most soy sauces are made out of soy and wheat, so calling it soy sauce can be misleading for people who need to avoid gluten.

Soy sauce contains crushed wheat and soy that ferments for a few days or longer.

Soy sauce can have a lot of wheat in it which can irritate those sensitive to gluten. Typically, the soy and wheat ratio in soy sauce is 1:1.

As a result, many brands will have gluten in them because soy sauce usually has wheat in it. It would be best to check the ingredients list before you buy soy sauce.

However, not all soy sauces will have gluten because there are some gluten-free brands that contain very little to no wheat. You may also check out gluten-free alternatives to soy sauce.

Lee Kum Kee Gluten Free Soy Sauce

Buy Online:

Lee Kum Kee makes many different varieties of Asian sauces, and they also make a gluten free soy sauce! This GF soy sauce is certified gluten free and vegan-friendly.

Lee Kum Kee is also a little harder to find than some brands on this list, but you can find it at 99 Ranch Market, other Asian supermarkets, and Walmart . You can also buy this soy sauce online !

You May Like: Kikkoman Sauce Recipes

What Is Hoisin Sauce Taste Like

It has a strong salty flavor with a hint of sweetness. Hoisin sauce has a flavor that is similar to American-style barbecue sauce, but it is much saltier, richer, and less sweet, and it has its own distinct flavor. The fermented soybeans provide the savory umami flavor that some other sauces achieve by using fish or meat.

Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce 1000 Ml


Note:FREE Click and CollectPick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.

  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost

How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?

  • Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  • Dispatch to this address when you check out
  • FREE Delivery

    • Enjoy our special tamari soy sauce despite coeliac disease
    • The naturally brewed tamari gluten-free soy sauce
    • Our tamari gluten-free soy sauce is now being manufactured according to the new recipe and is no longer just gluten-free
    • It is also halal. people of muslim belief can use our sauce without hesitation.

    Read Also: Raos Pasta Sauce Costco

    Difference Between Tamari And Regular Soy Sauce

    Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce has been available in the UK for some time now, however we still get asked whats the difference between tamari and regular soy sauce? In simple terms its all about the wheat or lack of it!

    Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce contains no wheat at all, so it is suitable for those with a wheat or gluten allergy or coeliac disease. Made with just four ingredients – Water, Soybeans, Salt and Vinegar and no artificial additives or colourings, the sauce is slowly matured using a special non-wheat brewing process, resulting in a rich flavour and aroma thats pretty close to Kikkomans original Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce, so all the family can enjoy it without missing out on taste.

    Whats more as theres no wheat to ferment in Kikkoman Tamari, this particular soy sauce is free from alcohol too and certified halal on the label. Some other brands of tamari have alcohol added as an ingredient so always check the label. Kikkoman Tamari also has vegan certification.

    Look out for the distinctive blue caps in the free-from aisles in supermarkets.

    Of course, you can use Kikkoman Tamari in place of regular soy sauce in any recipe, but if you want some gluten-free meal ideas like those below take a look at our collection of Tamari Soy Sauce Recipes.

    Koi Fish Symbolism And Meaning Defined

    Many Koi Fish swim in a pond near my house in Hanoi, Vietnam. The Koi fish were put there purposely as a sign of good luck. The Koi fish have many symbols, from their color to the fish itself. The fish can bring you positive energy, good luck, and fortune. That is why the Koi fish remains a prevalent fish in Asia and worldwide.

    By , you can discover Koi Fish Symbolism And Meaning Defined

    Read Also: Raos Prices

    The Difference Between Chinese And Japanese Soy Sauce

    Brewed and non-brewed isnt the only important classification when discussing soy sauces. The country of origin also plays a vital role in the condiments taste and consistency.

    Youll find soy sauces from all over the world, including practically every Eastern nation. However, for the American shopper, the sauces youll find on store shelves are usually either Chinese or Japanese.


    About 2,000 years ago, the Chinese people invented soy sauce. Initially, they brewed the soybeans without any wheat. However, today most Chinese soy sauce is brewed with wheat flour. Additionally, sugar is commonly added.

    Its the saltier sauce of the two types. Plus, its also thicker and darker than the Japanese variant. If you shake the bottle, and the sauce coats the sides, its almost certainly the Chinese style.


    In the 7th century, Chinese Buddhist monks introduced the condiment to Japan. Over time, the Japanese altered the creation process to eventually develop their own version called shoyu. They eventually began sending their soy sauce to countries worldwide via the Dutch East India Trading Company, which is why much of the world associates Japan with soy sauce.

    Japanese soy sauce is brewed with roasted wheat instead of wheat flour. It contains no added sugar. Surprisingly, the lack of sugar, and other processing factors, result in a soy sauce with a sweeter, more well-rounded flavor.

    You May Like: How To Get Tomato Stains Out Of Clothing

    Does Rice Vinegar Have Gluten

    No Soy Soy Sauce (Gluten Free, Vegan, Soy Free)

    While rice vinegar inherently has no gluten, the added grains to the vinegar might be problematic. Some Asian labels might not specify if they are gluten-free, so carefully read through the ingredient list before you buy any. Rice vinegar is a popular ingredient in sushi rice so take caution when ordering sushi.

    You May Like: Costco Marinara Sauce

    Is There A Difference Between The Soy Sauce In The Designer Dispenser Bottle And The Soy Sauce In The Normal Bottle

    No, theres no difference. Both products are the same naturally brewed soy sauce. Theyve just been filled into different bottles. The iconic designer bottle beautifies the dining table. Its an aesthetic dispenser that enhances the seasoning experience and gives maximum pouring control. The designer bottle is also refillable and dishwasher safe.

    How Is Soy Sauce Made

    Soy sauce production will of course vary with the manufacturer. There are also regional differences in the production. Soy sauce is used in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and other cuisines, each with their own unique style and flavor. The process begins with soybeans. Soybeans are highly nutritional legumes which are low in starch and rich in calcium and magnesium.

    Soy sauce can be produced quickly through a non-brewed method or through fermentation. Low quality brands often use the non-brewed method which only takes a couple of days. The latter method is the traditional way this ancient condiment has been prepared. Fermentation can take several months or more to prepare. Salt, water, and wheat are used to create the unique flavor of soy sauce. Since wheat is often a part of the mash, generally soy sauce is not gluten free.

    Bacteria are added to break down the proteins. This process produces several amino acids which are the building blocks of protein. The mash will ferment for a certain period of time. It is then filtered and pasteurized.

    Recommended Reading: Pioneer Woman Spaghetti

    Is Kikkoman Ponzu Sauce Gluten Free

    Traditional ponzu sauce contains soy sauce .

    Accordingly, is Kikkoman sauce gluten free?

    Is Kikkoman Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce glutenfree? The gluten in Kikkoman Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce is below the detection limit of 10 ppm . We recommend Tamari Glutenfree Soy Sauce for people with gluten intolerance.

    Secondly, does teriyaki sauce have gluten? Gluten SourceThe most common source of gluten in teriyaki sauce is the soy sauce. Most soy sauces, unless labeled gluten-free, contain wheat as well as soybeans, salt and water. However, commercially available teriyaki sauces may also include gluten-containing additives.

    Also Know, what soy sauce is gluten free?

    Most soy sauce varieties are not glutenfree. However, tamari soy sauce is generally made without wheat and, therefore, glutenfree. The same goes for soy sauces made with rice. Additionally, coconut aminos are a glutenfree soy sauce alternative with a similar taste.

    Is oyster sauce gluten free?

    Mili, New Moon and Ayam oyster sauces are labeled gluten free making them super safe to use. It is important to note that oyster sauce is a common staple in Chinese and Thai cooking. Remember to check with restaurant chefs to be sure that both soya sauce and oyster sauce are not added to your dish.

    You May Like Also

    Find answers in product info, Q& As, reviews

    Your question might be answered by sellers, manufacturers, or customers who bought this product.

    Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.

    Japanese Tamari Soy Sauce

    Kikkoman Gluten

    Japanese Tamari soy sauce tamari is a form of traditional soy sauce produced as a by-product during the production of miso paste. Unlike any conventional soy sauce, it contains no wheat and is made with a higher volume of soybeans.

    This soy sauce has a rich texture and thicker sauce as it is made with mainly soybeans. Any soy sauce that has the Tamari name should be gluten-free.

    Here are some of our favorite Japanese Tamari and gluten-free soy sauce brands:

    You May Like: Honey Roasted Mustard Chick Fil A

    Gluten Free Soy Sauce Listing The Ultimate Guide

    Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

    When it comes to soy sauce, most people are usually quite shocked to find out that it contains gluten.

    And its true, whenever you read the ingredients list on any normal soy sauce bottle, it clearly states wheat as one of the first ingredients.

    Just in case you didnt know, here are some facts about soy sauce. Soy sauce is made from a fermented paste of of boiled soybeans, roasted grains, brine, and aspergillus oryzae. This paste is then pressed, creating the liquid we know.

    However, with the emerging demand for gluten free options, most soy sauce manufacturers have started to product gluten free soy sauce.

    Popular Recipes

    More Recipes Like This