Which Soy Sauce Is Gluten Free

Must Try

Just Like Kikkoman Soy Sauce Tamari Gluten

Gluten and Soy Free ‘Soy’ Sauce

It is made with just four ingredients Water, Soybeans, Salt and Vinegar and being wheat-free, coeliacs and those with a wheat allergy can now enjoy this delicious all-purpose seasoning. Simply pour a splash in everything, from Bolognese sauce, to soup, to salad dressing for extra richness and bite. Also certified Halal.

150ml dispenser and 250ml refill bottles

How Is Dark Soy Sauce Used

Its commonly used in braised/red-cooked dishes like Red Cooked Pork, or to achieve that tantalizing dark amber color in stir-fries like Beef & Broccoli or rice/noodle dishes like Supreme Soy Sauce Fried Rice and Cantonese Pan-fried Noodles.

You only need a teaspoon or two to take a dish from pale to amber brown. Taste often when adding more dark soy sauce, so you dont over-season your dish!

See the photo below of adding dark soy sauce to white rice

And what the rice looks like after its been stirred in :

Recommended Reading: Texas Pete Hot Sauce Recipe

Difference Between Tamari And Regular Soy Sauce

Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce has been available in the UK for some time now, however we still get asked whats the difference between tamari and regular soy sauce? In simple terms its all about the wheat or lack of it!

Kikkoman Tamari Gluten Free Soy Sauce contains no wheat at all, so it is suitable for those with a wheat or gluten allergy or coeliac disease. Made with just four ingredients – Water, Soybeans, Salt and Vinegar and no artificial additives or colourings, the sauce is slowly matured using a special non-wheat brewing process, resulting in a rich flavour and aroma thats pretty close to Kikkomans original Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce, so all the family can enjoy it without missing out on taste.

Whats more as theres no wheat to ferment in Kikkoman Tamari, this particular soy sauce is free from alcohol too and certified halal on the label. Some other brands of tamari have alcohol added as an ingredient so always check the label. Kikkoman Tamari also has vegan certification.

Look out for the distinctive blue caps in the free-from aisles in supermarkets.

Of course, you can use Kikkoman Tamari in place of regular soy sauce in any recipe, but if you want some gluten-free meal ideas like those below take a look at our collection of Tamari Soy Sauce Recipes.

Read Also: Rao’s Costco

Is There A Difference Between The Soy Sauce In The Designer Dispenser Bottle And The Soy Sauce In The Normal Bottle

No, theres no difference. Both products are the same naturally brewed soy sauce. Theyve just been filled into different bottles. The iconic designer bottle beautifies the dining table. Its an aesthetic dispenser that enhances the seasoning experience and gives maximum pouring control. The designer bottle is also refillable and dishwasher safe.

Which Soy Sauce Brands Are Gluten Free

Kikkoman Soy Sauce Gluten Free Soy 250ml

Keep reading as we break down the most popular soy sauce brands for whether or not they are gluten free.

However, you still want to check the individual packages yourself before purchasing to ensure that manufacturing practices havent changed, or a gluten-free label hasnt been removed due to recipe reformulation.

Read Also: Freddy’s Fry Sauce For Sale

Buyer Beware Soy Sauce Vs Tamari

Soy sauce and tamari do not taste the same and neither do any two brands of soy sauce. Trying new products and modifying recipes goes hand in hand with any dietary restriction. There is nothing like a head-to-head comparison to find out what you prefer, help you learn about the products you consume and have a little fun in the process. I wont say any more about product labels, they are self explanatory and a tasting event will put you on the right track.

Which Sauces Are Usually Gluten Free

The good news is, there are a lot of sauces and condiments which are gluten free.

As a rule, these sauces are USUALLY gluten free:

  • Mayonnaise
  • Most jams, curds and marmalades
  • Sriracha chilli sauce

Now, isn’t that a delightfully long list of things you can eat!? We’re off to a good start!

Usually all of the above sauces are free from gluten, but it is always important to check,

Only last week I went to a restaurant where the mayonnaise had a ‘may contain traces of gluten’ warning on it, must to my surprise.

If you have coeliac disease it’s advised to avoid all foods with a ‘may contain’ warning.

So as well as checking the ingredients, make sure you also check for any warnings too.

It’s also important when shopping in the free from aisle to check the sauces there are gluten free.

It can be easy to assume that everything in that aisle is safe to eat, but some of it may be in there because it’s dairy or egg free, but still contains gluten. It’s rare, but it happens.

It’s also worth checking the lists below as sometimes, for example, a vegan mayonnaise will be in the free from aisle and marked ‘gluten free’, when the normal, cheaper variety is gluten free anyway!

So definitely shop around if you want to save your pennies!

Also Check: Big Mac Sauce Recipe Mcdonald’s Chef

Portion Size And Shelf Life Of Soy Sauce

One of the most significant confusion with soy sauce intake is the sodium content. However, there is no ideal portion size for everyone as there is no golden line for taste and healthiness that satisfies everybody. But, one tablespoon of soy sauce adds substantial flavour to food and provides fifteen calories and over 900 mg of sodium. Therefore, it is safe to say that one tablespoon of soy sauce a day is quite ideal. So, have your soy sauce but not in excess, and keep it in moderation.

Soy sauce need not be refrigerated, and you have to use it within two months from the manufacture date. However, do check the label of the soy sauce bottle, as some brands ask you to refrigerate it to maintain its flavour and freshness. It can also increase its shelf life.

Is La Choy Soy Sauce Gluten

No Soy Soy Sauce (Gluten Free, Vegan, Soy Free)

La Choy Soy Sauce does not contain any gluten-derived ingredients and many bottles are labeled gluten-free.

However, it is difficult from the manufacturers website to discern manufacturing practices as they produce other items that do contain wheat-based ingredients.

That said, La Choy Soy Sauce is likely safe, but with many other brands that are clearly committed to manufacturing products that are independently tested to be free of gluten, La Choy is a trickier sell for me.

Was this post a helpful guide? If so, comment below to let me know, or share it on social media so you can come back to it again!

And dont forget to download your gluten-free substitutions guide:

Grab your FREE copy of Gluten-Free Made Easy!

Over 15 pages of essential resources for living gluten-free without the stress in an easy to use reference guide.

Read Also: Texas Pete Buffalo Wing Sauce Recipe

Why Is Some Barley Malt Vinegar No Longer Gluten Free

Coeliac UK has recently updated its guidelines stating that it will no longer be listing products containing barley malt extract or barley malt vinegar unless they are labelled as gluten free.

This is placing a greater responsibility on the manufacturers to confirm that products contain less than 20ppm of gluten and can be labelled as gluten free.

It means 187 products have been removed from Coeliac UK’s ‘safe’ list – including Branston Pickle, Lea and Perrins and Sarson’s Malt Vinegar.

However, a couple of products which are still listed as safe, and a good gluten free alternative, include:

  • Heinz Rich and Tangy Sandwich Pickle
  • Blenders Malt Vinegar 10ml sachets
  • Heinz Chunky Classic Ploughman’s Pickle

Obviously Coeliac UK is continuing to contact manufacturers and if any of the removed products appear safe again, I will update this guide and let you know!

This is why the Coeliac UK scanner app is so useful – I use it all the time and it’s helped me discover loads of products I didn’t know I could eat.

Whats The Problem With Gluten

While most people can eat gluten without suffering any negative side effects, up to 6% of the population may experience a sensitivity to gluten. Even for some people without a diagnosis specific to gluten sensitivity, consuming gluten can sometimes cause symptoms by aggravating other health conditions, such as irritable bowel syndrome .

Despite the phrase gluten sensitivity, gliadin is actually the cause behind most of the adverse health effects eating gluten can have on some people, not gluten itself. The peptide sequences found in gliadin can disrupt the gastrointestinal tract and cause extreme discomfort because they are highly resistant to the digestive process.

A sensitivity to gluten can take on a variety of different forms and cause a range of symptoms. The health condition most commonly associated with gluten sensitivity is celiac disease. Celiac disease, also known as coeliac disease, is the most severe type of gluten intolerance that affects about one out of every 133 Americans, or 1% of the population.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that occurs when the body views gluten as a foreign invader and signals for the immune system to attack the gluten. When attacking the gluten as a foreign invader, the body also attacks the lining of the gut, which can severely damage the gut wall and lead to digestive issues, nutrient deficiencies, anemia and an increased risk of developing diseases.

Most often, celiac disease causes these symptoms:

Also Check: Chick Fil A Sauce Uses

Make No Mistake About It: Wheat

Bottom Line: Neither the FDA nor the USDA allows soy sauce made using wheat to be labeled gluten-free. There are no ifs, ands, or buts about it.

If you are a consumer or a manufacturer and you continue to have doubts about the veracity of the above bottom line statement, please read the communication from the USDA to me pasted below. I contacted the agency after Scott of the blog Gluten Dude posted about a jerky product* labeled gluten-free yet containing wheat-based soy sauce. My question to the USDA was simple, Is USDA allowing products containing wheat-based soy sauce to be labeled gluten-free? While I already knew the answer was no, I wanted the information in writing so that it could be shared publicly. The following statement is posted with permission:

Thank you to the USDA for their very speedy response!

*Note: Gluten Free Watchdog purchased the jerky from Amazon. The product is currently labeled gluten-free and contains wheat-based soy sauce. This product will be added to our FDA Citizen Petition via a comment.

Also Check: Where To Buy Raos Sauce

Sauces Which Are *sometimes* Gluten Free


These sauces are always worth checking sometimes they will contain gluten but some varieties and brands are gluten free.

I can definitely recommend the Coeliac UK scanner app if you want to check before you buy.

Sauces and condiments which are usually gluten free in the UK are:

  • Tomato Ketchup
  • Some brands of Brown Sauce
  • Some varieties of BBQ sauce
  • Salad dressings
  • Supermarket own brand Yeast Extract while Marmite is not gluten free, a lot of the own brand ones are. Double check using the scanner app.
  • Relishes and pickles always double check using the scanner app
  • Tartare sauce some versions have wheat flour in but some are gluten free

When it comes to tomato ketchup, youll be pleased to know Heinz ketchup is gluten free!

In fact, at the time of writing, the Coeliac UK scanner app lists 222 varieties which are gluten free, so that is definitely a bonus for all your ketchup fans!

If you like BBQ sauce, youll be pleased to know there are quite a few you can eat.

The HP BBQ sauce is gluten free, and there are quite a few BBQ sauce bottles, marinades and jar sauces which are listed in the Coeliac UK app.

With salad dressings, the majority are gluten free but its important to double check the ingredients as there are so many different varieties.

One for the fans out there the bad news is that Marmite is not gluten free.

However, many of the supermarket own brand Yeast Extracts are gluten free and safe for people with coeliac disease to eat.

Don’t Miss: Arby’s Sauce Walmart

Who Makes The Best Hoisin Sauce

Taste Tests of the Top 9 Best Hoisin Sauces What is Hoisin Sauce, where did it come from, and how does it taste? Reviews of the Top 10 Hoisin Sauces. #5 Kikkoman Gluten-Free Hoisin Sauce. #1 Kikkoman Hoisin Sauce. #2 Lee Kum Kee Hoisin Sauce. #3 Koon Chun Hoisin Sauce. #4 Soy Vay Hoisin Garlic Marinade & Sauce.

Dont Miss: Texas Pete Wings Recipe

How To Identify Gluten Containing Soy Sauce

What exactly is gluten and how to it get into foods?

In this post, we will take a look at the ingredients in gluten-free soy sauce and natto and what they mean for those who think the products are safe.

Soy sauce is a great addition to a wide range of meals from Chinese to Western. Gluten-free soy sauce is also available.

To find out if your soy sauce has gluten, check the ingredients label. The label will include information about any gluten containing ingredients.

Most soy sauces are made from soybeans, but some are made from wheat. Soy sauce makers make the distinction on their labels.

All soy sauces are vegetarian and gluten-free except for those that contain wheat.

Gluten containing soy sauce is produced from wheat and soybeans. It has a dark brown color and a thick, viscous consistency.

Non-gluten containing soy sauce is produced from soybeans. It is a clear liquid with a light-brown color.

Also Check: How To Thicken Store Bought Teriyaki Sauce

How Is Soy Sauce Made

Soy sauce production will of course vary with the manufacturer. There are also regional differences in the production. Soy sauce is used in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and other cuisines, each with their own unique style and flavor. The process begins with soybeans. Soybeans are highly nutritional legumes which are low in starch and rich in calcium and magnesium.

Soy sauce can be produced quickly through a non-brewed method or through fermentation. Low quality brands often use the non-brewed method which only takes a couple of days. The latter method is the traditional way this ancient condiment has been prepared. Fermentation can take several months or more to prepare. Salt, water, and wheat are used to create the unique flavor of soy sauce. Since wheat is often a part of the mash, generally soy sauce is not gluten free.

Bacteria are added to break down the proteins. This process produces several amino acids which are the building blocks of protein. The mash will ferment for a certain period of time. It is then filtered and pasteurized.

Soy Sauce Promotes Digestion

How To Make Dark Soy Sauce (Gluten Free)

According to a study, consumption of Japanese soy sauce, Shoyu in limited amounts can help healthy digestion by assisting the gastric tract in digesting the food effectively. Soy sauce promotes digestion as well by enhancing gastric juice secretion. Japanese style fermented soy sauce helps support the growth of beneficial bacteria in the digestive tract because its fermented.

Also Check: Special Sauce Mcdonald’s

The Role Of Soybeans Wheat And The Other Ingredients

Soybeans are the most important ingredient in Kikkoman Soy Sauce. The unique characteristics of soy sauce originate primarily from the proteins contained in the soybeans. The carbohydrates contained in the wheat are what give soy sauce its fine aroma, and the wheat also adds sweetness. The salt is dissolved in water. This salt-and-water solution controls the propagation of bacteria during the brewing process and acts as a preservative. This is why Kikkoman doesnt need to put any artificial preservatives or additives in its sauce.

  • Enjoy our special tamari soy sauce despite coeliac disease
  • The naturally brewed tamari gluten-free soy sauce
  • Our tamari gluten-free soy sauce is now being manufactured according to the new recipe and is no longer just gluten-free
  • It is also halal. people of muslim belief can use our sauce without hesitation.

Does Sesame Oil Have Soy In It

Alternative cooking oils such as coconut, sunflower seed, sesame and peanut oil are also naturally soy and gluten-free. Experimenting with these oils can lend new flavors and dimension to everyday dishes. Before selecting these, or any cooking oil, check the nutrition facts label for potential allergens.

Recommended Reading: Hot Sauce Monthly Box

Is Tamari Soy Sauce Gluten

Tamari soy sauce, also known as shoyu, is gluten-free because it contains little to no wheat. Instead, its main ingredients are soy, organic alcohol, salt, and water.

The main process of creating tamari soy sauce is to ferment soybeans and occasionally very little wheat.

There are different fermentation processes for tamari that create different kinds of tamari which include sai-shikomi, usukuchi, shiro, and koikuchi.

Each kind of tamari soy sauce will vary in wheat content, flavor, and thickness. Luckily, most will be wheat and gluten-free.

Eden Tamari Soy Sauce

Amazon.com : Kikkoman, Soy Sauce, Gluten

Eden Organic offers two different types of tamari, one of which is made in the U.S. and the other which is imported from Japan.

The only difference between the 2 is that while the Japanese version is made using rice, the U.S. version is made using corn grains.

Other than that, theyre the same and are both considered to be gluten free up to 20 parts per million and are non-GMO certified.

You can buy it here.

Don’t Miss: Raos Sauce Flavors

Which Is The Best Plum Sauce In The World

The Kikkoman plum sauce is not like the average plum sauce that is just sweet with no complexity in flavor. This sauce packs a mix of intense flavors that provide a perfect balance of sweet and tangy. It complements savory dishes perfectly. It contains sugar, vinegar, plum puree, ginger, modified corn starch, and fermented wheat protein.

Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free

Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it is not usually gluten-free. However, there are many Gluten Free Soy Sauce Brands that you can buy!

When looking for a gluten free soy sauce, youll probably hear the word tamari a lot. Tamari is soy sauce that is made without wheat ingredients. Although there are subtle differences in flavor, they are almost indistinguishable, making Tamari a perfect gluten-free substitute!

Because tamari is usually made from only soybeans, it tastes richer than soy sauce because there is a higher concentration of soy . However, some brands have both tamari and gluten free soy sauce products. The gluten free soy sauce products usually have other ingredients to try and taste more like traditional soy sauce.

All of the soy sauce or tamari brands on this list are certified gluten free. This means they have been tested by a third party to ensure they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients!

Ingredients can always change, so be sure to read the most updated label information, allergen warnings, and product certifications before purchasing any of the products on this list.

Buy Online: | Vitacost

San-J specializes in making gluten free tamari products. There are five different San-J gluten free soy sauces to choose from: Tamari, 28% Less Sodium, 50% Less Sodium, Organic Tamari, and Organic 25% Less Sodium! These products are all certified gluten free, vegan, Kosher, and Non-GMO.

Don’t Miss: Bertolli Alfredo Sauce Gluten Free

Popular Recipes

More Recipes Like This