Gluten Free Soy Sauce Substitute

Must Try

Risks And Side Effects

Soy Sauce Substitute (how-to: soy-free gluten-free alternative to soy sauce)

Tamari can be a good alternative to regular soy sauce, especially for those with a sensitivity to wheat products or gluten. However, its still very high in sodium, and intake should be kept in moderation, especially for those with heart problems or high blood pressure.

Additionally, because most soybeans are genetically modified, its best to opt for organic tamari whenever possible. Be sure to also check the ingredients label and select a brand with minimal ingredients and free of additives. Also, if you do have a food allergy or sensitivity, be sure to look for certified gluten-free products to ensure that your condiment is completely free of gluten.

Finally, soy allergies are common and can cause side effects like hives, itching, rashes or swelling. If you experience these or any other food allergy symptoms, discontinue use immediately and consult with your doctor.

Final Thoughts

  • What is tamari sauce? Made from fermented soybeans, tamari is often used as a substitute for soy sauce in stir-fries, dressings and sauces.
  • It is often free of wheat and easy to use. Compared to soy sauce, it also is higher in protein, contains antioxidants, has a smoother taste, and is less likely to have additives and preservatives.
  • You can find this condiment at most grocery stores and can easily add it to a wide array of recipes.
  • However, because its high in sodium, its best to keep intake in moderation and always opt for organic to minimize potential side effects.

How To Make A Soy Sauce Substitute

When I say easy, I mean it!

First, combine all of the ingredients in a small saucepan and bring them to a boil.

Next, lower the boil to medium heat and let the mixture simmer until it is reduced by half. Keep stirring it periodically.

Once the mixture has reduced, remove it from the heat and let it cool on the counter. This takes about 15 minutes.

Once it has cooled, transfer it to a small mason jar for storage.

Keep it refrigerated and give it a good shake before using.

How To Use Coconut Sauce

When cooking with coconut sauce at home, just think of it as an alternative to soy sauce or tamari. Whether you use it in stir-fries, fried rice, dressings or marinades, the key is to taste as you go: Start by substituting an equal amount of coconut sauce for soy sauce. Because coconut sauce typically contains up to 70 percent less sodium than soy sauce, its best to taste, then add more if you find the dish needs more saltiness. If your recipe calls for sugar/honey or vinegar, add half the quantity of each. Taste, then add more if needed .

I also tried this seasoning sauce in Chatelaines shoyu eggs recipe to great success. Instead of using the soy sauce, rice vinegar and granulated sugar called for, I substituted with 1 cup coconut sauce, making it a gluten- and soy-free dish.

Try coconut sauce in some of these recipes, using the substitution method above.

You May Like: How To Make Shrimp Alfredo With Ragu Alfredo Sauce

Homemade Vegan Soy Sauce

This is a highly concentrated substance that you can make at home from things in your cupboard.

It will keep well in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks and should be diluted before use.


  • Salt


Add all of the ingredients except the fenugreek seeds and salt to a saucepan. Place over a medium heat and whisk until it reaches boiling point.

When it boils, reduce the heat and add in the fenugreek seeds. Simmer the mixture until it has reduced by half. This should strongly resemble soy sauce.

At this point, you should taste a little and decide whether to add salt or not.

Pass the liquid through a sieve or strainer to remove any lumps. Allow it to cool and then transfer it to a sterilized glass jar.


This recipe will make ½ a cup or 125 ml of soy sauce concentrate.

You can substitute regular molasses or dark caramel for the blackstrap molasses, although this will affect the color of the replacement.

You can substitute white vinegar or apple cider vinegar for the rice vinegar in a pinch.

If you do not have powdered ginger, finely grate ½ inch of ginger root.

Is La Choy Soy Sauce Gluten


La Choy Soy Sauce does not contain any gluten-derived ingredients and many bottles are labeled gluten-free.

However, it is difficult from the manufacturers website to discern manufacturing practices as they produce other items that do contain wheat-based ingredients.

That said, La Choy Soy Sauce is likely safe, but with many other brands that are clearly committed to manufacturing products that are independently tested to be free of gluten, La Choy is a trickier sell for me.

Was this post a helpful guide? If so, comment below to let me know, or share it on social media so you can come back to it again!

And dont forget to download your gluten-free substitutions guide:

Grab your FREE copy of Gluten-Free Made Easy!

Over 15 pages of essential resources for living gluten-free without the stress in an easy to use reference guide.

Also Check: Raos Tomato Sauce Costco

More Recipes You Might Like

  • In a small saucepan, add all ingredients except salt and sesame oil.
  • Bring ingredients to a boil and simmer on medium heat for about 10 minutes.
  • Turn off heat, add in salt and sesame oil and stir until well mixed.
  • Let cool and store in an airtight container for up to a week or freeze a portion of it to use for later.

Best Healthy Alternatives To Soy Sauce

Soy sauce is not a typical healthy condiment because its very high in sodium and heavily processed. However, there are several adjustments you can make to ensure your soy sauce is a healthier option.

First, many of the store brands will sell low-sodium options.

Additionally, my homemade recipe at the end of this article can be made with lower sodium by skipping the sauce and using a low-sodium version of beef broth or vegetable broth. Both of these should be readily available in stores. And by making homemade soy sauce, you avoid all the heavy processing that goes into the manufactured soy sauce.

Recommended Reading: What’s In Freddy’s Fry Sauce

Other Differences Between Soy Sauce And Tamari

Soy sauce and its many forms are found widely throughout Asia, but tamari is specifically a Japanese form of soy sauce, traditionally made as a byproduct of miso paste.

The differences in production give each sauce its own unique flavor. Tamari has a darker color and richer flavor than the common Chinese soy sauce you may be more familiar with. It also tastes more balanced and less salty than the sometimes harsh bite of soy sauce, which makes it great for dipping.

Instead of keeping one or the other in your cupboard, consider stocking up on both sauces and experimenting with them in dishes that call for soy.

Can You Substitute Worcestershire Sauce For Soy Sauce

Gluten and Soy Free ‘Soy’ Sauce

You can definitely substitute Worcestershire sauce for soy sauce. If you do, I recommend making a homemade one or Worcestershire sauce substitute so you can adjust it. The flavor profile of a store-bought version such as Lea & Perrins is different from the taste of soy sauce. Also, do keep in mind that most Worcestershire sauces are made with fermented anchovies, so they are not vegetarian or vegan.

Be careful, as some homemade Worcestershire sauce recipes call for soy sauce, which we are trying to avoid in the first place! Be very mindful of all ingredients when researching recipes for your homemade condiments.

Recommended Reading: Reaper Squeezins Scoville

Uses In Ayurveda And Tcm

In moderation, tamari can be enjoyed on a well-rounded diet and even has some health-promoting properties that work well in holistic medicine.

In Traditional Chinese Medicine, the soybeans from which tamari is derived are thought to have cooling properties and are believed to enhance detoxification, promote regularity and ease urination. However, it is also recommended to limit intake of high-sodium foods like this condiment to optimize kidney function.

According to Ayurveda, on the other hand, tamari is considered easy to digest thanks to the absence of wheat as well as the fermentation process that it undergoes. It is noted, however, that intake should be kept in moderation due to the sodium content, which can have negative effects on circulation on an Ayurvedic diet.

Gluten Free Soy Sauce Listing The Ultimate Guide

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

When it comes to soy sauce, most people are usually quite shocked to find out that it contains gluten.

And its true, whenever you read the ingredients list on any normal soy sauce bottle, it clearly states wheat as one of the first ingredients.

Just in case you didnt know, here are some facts about soy sauce. Soy sauce is made from a fermented paste of of boiled soybeans, roasted grains, brine, and aspergillus oryzae. This paste is then pressed, creating the liquid we know.

However, with the emerging demand for gluten free options, most soy sauce manufacturers have started to product gluten free soy sauce.

Recommended Reading: Hot Ones Eye Of The Scorpion Scoville Units

Can Celiacs Eat Soy Sauce

NOCeliacs cannot eat regular soy sauce unless it is specifically labeled to be gluten-free!

But dont worry. There are plenty of great alternatives that will give you the flavor of soy sauce so you can still make your favorite recipes!

Keep reading for the best gluten-free alternatives to soy sauce and where you can buy them!

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item

Coconut Sauce: The Gluten

Find answers in product info, Q& As, reviews

Your question might be answered by sellers, manufacturers, or customers who bought this product.

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.

Please enter a question.

  • Is Discontinued By Manufacturer :No
  • Package Dimensions :10 x 3.94 x 3.5 inches 14.11 Ounces
  • UPC :041390000782

Recommended Reading: Texas Pete Hot Dog Chili Sauce Recipe

Eden Tamari Soy Sauce

Eden Organic offers two different types of tamari, one of which is made in the U.S. and the other which is imported from Japan.

The only difference between the 2 is that while the Japanese version is made using rice, the U.S. version is made using corn grains.

Other than that, theyre the same and are both considered to be gluten free up to 20 parts per million and are non-GMO certified.

You can buy it here.

How To Make Vegan Soy Sauce

Bubble together some veggie broth with the deep, sappy and iron boosting goodness of molasses along with ginger and garlic . This concoction reduces to a light syrupy consistency.

It’s not quite soy sauce but, regardless, it is packed with flavour.

Let this mixture cool and you have your soy-less soy sauce.

Wherever possible, it’s much healthier to stick with homemade.

It can be pretty simple with basic recipes like this one. Perfect for stir-fry’s, noodle dishes, soups … basically anything you would normally used store bought soy sauce.

I also have a non vegan version of this sauce! Check out my “Faux” Soy Sauce recipe.

Have a great weekend, y’all!

Recommended Reading: Hot Ones Sample Box

Which Is Better Soy Sauce Tamari Or Coconut Aminos

Of course, the answer to this is highly individual and nuanced. As a celiac, I simply cant eat soy sauce anymore, so thats off the table for me. But if you dont have a problem with gluten and youd like to enjoy soy sauce, Id recommend always purchasing organic soy sauce. Soybeans are one of the top GMO and pesticide-laden crops, so its worth spending the extra money on organic.

I enjoy both organic tamari and coconut aminos and switch things up based on what Im eating. Because I avoid soy in almost all other capacities , Im fine splurging on organic tamari when enjoying sushi once or twice a month. I personally love the stronger flavor.

But coconut aminos are nothing to brush under the rug either and I use them frequently in sauces, marinades or other recipes that may already include savory ingredients and salt. Additionally, if youre paleo or following an AIP or Whole30 diet or avoiding soy for a variety of reasons, coconut aminos will be your preferred choice.

Little Soya Soy Sauce

Healthy Soy Sauce? Gluten-Free Low Sodium Tamari Soy Sauce Review

One of the best things about Little Soya Soy Sauce is the fact that these come in highly portable little fish shaped packets.

According to Little Soya, they currently test down to 10 parts per million of gluten, so its really safe.

Along with being gluten free, these Little Soya is also non-GMO certified.

You can find Little Soya at many major grocery stores and online.

You can buy it here.

Recommended Reading: Tomato Juice And Gout

How To Make Your Own Soy Sauce Substitute

If youd rather create your own soy sauce substitute at home, here is my favorite recipe that you can easily make yourself.

The best thing about making your soy sauce is that you are in control of what goes into it. If youre truly changing up your soy sauce intake for health reasons, this is the only way you have complete knowledge of what youre eating.

That said, making your own condiments is a great way to take control of your health. Soy sauce alternatives are better for you, in addition to homemade ketchup, mustard, salad dressing, and pickles. So much salt, sugar, and chemicals are pumped into store-bought condiments. Just go to your fridge and read some of the ingredients on your condiments bottlesyou will be surprised!

Serving Suggestions And Substitutions:

  • Add this to a stir fry or healthy fried rice recipes in place of soy sauce, worcestershire sauce, coconut aminos, bragg liquid aminos, or maggi seasoning. It could also double as a tamarind or tamari substitute.
  • This could easily be made vegan-friendly by using vegetable stock. Click for this Vegan Soy Sauce Substitute recipe.
  • Substitute beef broth for a richer taste. Tip! Keep bouillon on hand in the pantry. It can be really useful for making broth on the fly.
  • Add the flavor of anchoviesI recommend the anchovy paste – to turn this into a healthier low-sodium fish sauce.
  • For a twist on the spices, you could add ¼ teaspoon of onion powder or swap white pepper for the black peppercorns.

Read Also: Tomatoes And Gout Uric Acid

Other Vegan Recipes Worth Trying

Looking for some additional vegan or gluten-free recipes? Weve got a few others that Id recommend:

What Is Soy Sauce Exactly


Soy sauce is a Chinese condiment and a staple in Asian cuisine that became very popular all over the world due to its savory, bitterish, umami flavor. It is also called fermented bean oil, as the main ingredient is soybean. Hence the name soy sauce. In Japan, it is also known as Shoyu.

Therefore, if you have just started a gluten-free diet and never ever checked the ingredient list on the bottle before, you might remember it as pure fermented soy and nothing else.

However, to make authentic soy sauce, the soybeans are fermented together with barley or wheat in salt and water with the help of mold or yeast culture. And sadly, both barley and wheat are gluten-containing whole grains.

You can read more about its origin and production here.

Recommended Reading: Costco Rao’s Marinara

Major Tamari Brand To Avoid

Hopefully you enjoyed this listing.

Although its not a massive list and a few may seem to be missing, these are the safest choices and are highly recommended by most Celiacs and gluten free dieters.

The only one major tamari thats missing is the one by La Choy.

Although all the ingredients are gluten free with no wheat presence, some people have reacted to this soy sauce. This could be due to cross contamination during manufacturing or other variables.

So be sure to steer clear from La Choy if youre allergic. Now if youre on a non-medical gluten free diet or paleo, you should be fine with this soy sauce.

Can I Make My Own Soy Sauce

Earlier in this article we provided you with a recipe for a vegan homemade soy sauce. But, here it is again, to save you from having to scroll through:


  • Salt


Add all of the ingredients except the fenugreek seeds and salt to a saucepan. Place over a medium heat and whisk until it reaches boiling point.

When it boils, reduce the heat and add in the fenugreek seeds. Simmer the mixture until it has reduced by half. This should strongly resemble soy sauce.

At this point, you should taste a little and decide whether to add salt or not.

Pass the liquid through a sieve or strainer to remove any lumps. Allow it to cool and then transfer it to a sterilized glass jar.

To note – this recipe will make about half a cup or 125 ml of soy sauce concentrate.

Don’t Miss: Chick Fil A Honey Roasted Bbq Sauce

Whats Included In This Book

Its filled with 130+ pages of content and recipes, including:

  • Real food nutrition 101
  • Detailed information on how to properly soak and sprout nuts, beans, grains and seeds
  • A guide on how to spot chemical additives and what to avoid
  • Kitchen essentials and cooking tools
  • Tips on how to get kids to become better eaters and help in the kitchen
  • 70+ gluten-free recipes such as snacks and appetizers, beverages, condiments and dressings, main meals, desserts and more

Clever Soy Sauce Substitute Ideas

Coconut aminos – the soy sauce substitute (gluten free, soy free)

Craving a dish with Asian flair? These soy sauce substitutes will have you grabbing the chopsticks even when that bottle of Kikkoman is down to its last drop. Check them out!

  • Coconut AminosThis popular soy sauce substitute is lower in sodium, soy-free, and completely gluten-free. While it does have a slightly sweeter taste, coconut aminos are the perfect substitute for those looking to avoid those common ingredients!
  • Liquid Aminos Liquid aminos do contain soy, but it’s not fermented and it also contains amino acids. Much like soy sauce, this substitute tastes similar and is very concentrated in flavor! Bonus, it’s usually gluten-free.
  • Tamari This sauce originates in Japan and is very similar to soy sauce. It is usually gluten-free, unlike its soy sauce counterpart, but you should always double-check the label to be certain!
  • WorcestershireYep, that thing none of us can pronounce! Worcestershire is a suitable substitute for soy sauce, especially for those watching their sodium intake. It has a slightly different flavor profile, but it gets the job done in a pinch!
  • Fish Sauce More potent than soy sauce, this one needs to be used in moderation. Try Red Boat Fish Sauce, it’s delicious!

Whatever you choose to use, you can’t go wrong with a soy sauce substitute!

Also Check: Rao Spaghetti Sauce Costco

Popular Recipes

More Recipes Like This